LIWA Conference returns for 2021

19 August 2021

A delegate listening to a presenter at the LIWA conferenceThe Leisure Institute of Western Australia Aquatics, or LIWA Aquatics, held its latest annual conference this week at the Esplanade Hotel in Fremantle. Returning after a year off due to COVID in 2020, the conference saw 255 delegates get together for two days of learning, networking and celebration.

Throughout its history, LIWA has provided support, professional development and networking opportunities for those in the aquatic industry with hundreds of members around the state. The institute is committed to supporting the needs and ongoing development of aquatics and providing an alliance for those in the industry to assist each other.

A conference delegate

The conference also included a trade exhibition, where exhibitors could share their products and services, providing advice and guidance to assist delegates in keeping up to date with all the latest technology and services available for the industry, exchanging ideas and information.

Those attending the conference included aquatic centre managers, pool managers and supervisors, lifeguards, facility managers and other venue staff. Many delegates made an extra special effort, travelling from regional areas as far afield as Leonora, Albany and Kununurra to attend the event. Speakers included one of the nation’s leading survival instructors, Mike House, Royal Life Saving WA CEO Peter Leaversuch and Royal Life Saving Australia CEO Justin Scarr, Liam Smyth from the Department of Education and Sophie Rowe from Swimming WA.

A real highlight of the Conference was the recognition of a number of aquatic industry stalwarts, who received well-deserved awards for their decades of service. These included:

A presenter speaking at the LIWA conference
  • Dale Morrissy – Beatty Park Leisure Centre – 30 Year Service Award
  • Wendy Cole – Mandurah Aquatic and Recreation Centre – 30 Year Service Award
  • Camila Rasdian – Swan Active Beechboro – 20 Year Service Award
  • Jen Spriggs – 20 Year Service Award
  • Trenton Smith – Leschenault Leisure Centre – 20 Year Service Award
  • Peter Pesci – Collie Mineworkers Memorial Pool – 20 Year Service Award
  • Stephanie Miles – Waroona Recreation and Aquatic Centre - 20 Year Service Award
  • Corey Hollow – HBF Stadium – 20 Year Service Award
  • Allannah Stammers – Geographe Leisure Centre – 20 Year Service Award


It was fantastic to see these incredible, dedicated aquatic industry staff receive recognition for their work in metro and regional Western Australian pools and aquatic facilities over many years! We look forward to seeing all delegates taking the new skills and information they learned at this week’s conference back to their workplaces to share with their teams and communities.