Western Australians honoured for commitment to aquatic industry

1 July 2022

Peter Leaversuch at the LIWA ARI awardsAquatic facilities and their staff have been recognised for their commitment to improving health, safety and community outcomes at the WA Aquatic Recreation Industry Awards at the Rendezvous Hotel in Scarborough on Thursday.  

Hosted by the Leisure Institute of WA Aquatics with the support of Royal Life Saving WA, the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries and the Water Corporation, the event recognised the extraordinary commitments of these individuals and organisations.  

ARI Award winners John East, Dot Snow and Douglas MacaulayAs well as being honoured for contributions to improving programs, facility operations, management, and safety, the awards also celebrated those who’ve dedicated decades to the industry. John East, Dot Snow, Douglas Macaulay and Wayne Martin all receiving commendations for 30 years of service.

Amongst the many award winners was Royal Life Saving WA CEO Peter Leaversuch, who received the inaugural Smith Roberston Award for his ongoing contributions promoting safety in aquatic facilities and his fierce advocacy for regional WA.  The prestigious award was named in honour of LIWA Aquatics' two founding members, Fred Smith and John Robertson, who established the organisation in 1969.  

Peter says he’s proud to support the work of the institute, which continues to be a leading voice for aquatic facilities.  

“These are the people that take on the overall responsibility for the centres and how they contribute to their local communities. Being able to bring together those collective voices across the state with a clarity of message is really important,” he said.

Waterwise Aquatic Centre endorsements for Northam Aquatic Facility, HBF Arena and HBF Stadium“The next generation of people coming through are really talented and are going to make a real impact in their local community.”

Royal Life Saving WA congratulates all award recipients for their outstanding contributions that have supported the development and improvement of the aquatic industry. A thank you is also extended to LIWA Aquatics for continuing to make this event an annual success.  

The WA Aquatic Recreation Industry Awards results were: 

  • Waterwise Platinum Recognition – Bayswater Waves (City of Bayswater)
  • Newly Endorsed Waterwise Aquatic Centres – Northam Aquatic Facility (Shire of Northam), HBF Arena & HBF Stadium (VenuesWest)
  • Marketing & Communications Award – Swan Active (City of Swan)    
  • Sustainability Award – City of Armadale  
  • Aquatic Facility Safety Award – Wanneroo Aquamotion (City of Wanneroo)
  • Regional Watch Around Water Facility of the Year Award – Bay of Isles Leisure Centre (Shire of Esperance)
  • Metropolitan Watch Around Water Facility of the Year Award – Armadale Fitness & Aquatic Centre (City of Armadale)
  • Community Impact Award – Leisurepark Balga (City of Stirling) 
  • Industry Contribution Award – Edward Mordarski   
  • Pool Lifeguard of the Year Award – Natalie Chua (Cockburn ARC)  
  • Sole Operator of the Year Award – Steve Girschik (Warburton)  
  • Aquatic Supervisor of the Year Award – Jonathan Shapcott (Armadale Fitness & Aquatic Centre)  
  • Emerging Leader of the Year Award – Wilem De Klerk (Kwinana Requatic)